The Arden Consort Logo

The Arden Consort instrument montage

About us

The Arden Consort at Baddesley Clinton (National Trust)

The Arden Consort was formed in 1975 and performed particularly around the Forest of Arden area in Warwickshire - then moved much further afield.

Initially, the Consort specialised in music from the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods.  More recently, it has moved towards the Baroque period, embracing the music of Handel and Purcell in particular, as well as that of many other fine composers of the day.

The current members of this versatile group are:
Mike Ashley  -  lute, theorbo and guitar
Jill Davies  -  voice, viols and recorder
Jonathan Spencer  -  voice and bass viol
(and the occasional drum)
Dave Yates  -  recorders, great and small

The various combinations of instruments allows the Consort to develop 'chamber' arrangements of larger-scale music, such as popular arias from Handel operas.

The Consort programmes are always intended to be varied and entertaining for all audiences.

Selection of recorders - The Arden Consort